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MEET THE BOARD

Front row: Troy Grubb, PT,; Ron Barbato, PT; Steve Lacy, Public Member

Back row: Tina Volz, PT; Margaret Blain, PT; Debra Turner, PT; Mark Brengelman,

Assistant Attorney General; Kristie Cochrane, PT.

BOARD APPOINTMENT

Governor Ernie Fletcher has announced a new appointment to the
Kentucky State Board of Physical Therapy for a four year term. Welcome
Kristie Cochrane, PT, MSPT, from London. Kristie is a 1998 graduate of the
University of Kentucky and is currently employed as Clinic Director of PT Pros
London Clinic. She is also serving as KPTA Eastern District Co-Chair. Her
special interests in physical therapy include women’s health and hand therapy.
A native of London, KY, Kristie enjoys camping, boating, and spending time with
her family. She is also actively involved in the community with the March of
Dimes and the American Cancer Society.

Goodbye Sandy!

A big “Thank You” goes to Sandy Payne, PT, from Leitchfield, whose
Board term has expired. Sandy served on the Board for over 8 years and will
be greatly missed.




Disciplinary Actions
May 2005-January 2006

The following is a summary of disciplinary actions taken by the Board since the last
Newsletter was published. It is intended as a summary for informational purposes only. All
information is believed to be accurate. However, complete terms of each disciplinary action
are contained in the Board’s records. Monetary amounts paid to the Board may reflect the
investigative costs and not necessarily the scope and severity of the violation(s).

Judy Petrey, PTA-A00360 Date: 5/19/2005
Alleged Violations: KRS 327.070(2)(b), (h), and (k), 201 KAR 22:053 § 2(4), § 4(8) (effective September 10, 2001 to January 4,
2005).

Final Action: Admits to at least one count of each of violation KRS 327.070(2)(b) by engaging in or permitting the performance of
substandard patient care due to a deliberate or negligent act or failure to act; (h) by engaging in fraud or material deception in the
delivery of professional services, including reimbursement and (k) by violating 201 KAR 22:053 § 2(4) by failing to report to the
Board the unethical, incompetent, or illegal acts of the Respondent’s supervising physical therapist to the Board and 201 KAR
22:053 § 4(8) by failing to discontinue physical therapy services when the reassessments were not done and by not communicating
such to the appropriate parties. 90 day suspension ending 3/31/05, 2 yr probation with monitoring, $700 investigative costs, $500
fine, 3 hour CEU and passage of the Jurisprudence Exam.

Bruce Taylor, PT-003707 Date: 7/21/2005

Alleged Violations: KRS 327.070(2)(k) and 201 KAR 22:053 § 4(3)(k).

Final Action: Admits to at least one count of violation KRS 327.070(2)(k) by violating 201 KAR 22:053 § 4(3)(k) by failing to
reassess each patient every thirty days. 2 year probation with monitoring, $700 investigative costs, $500 fine, 3 hour CEU and
passage of the Jurisprudence Exam.

Jerome Johannes, PT-003972 Date: 7/21/2005

Alleged Violations: KRS 327.070(2)(a).

Final Action: Admits to violation KRS 327.070(2)(a) for having engaged in the excessive use of alcoholic beverages. Five years
suspension fully probated upon conditions designated by the Impaired Physical Therapy Practitioners Committee (IPTPC).

Charles Buster, PTA-A00812 Date: 11/17/2005

Alleged Violations: KRS 327.070(2)(b) and (h).

Final Action: Admits to at least one count of each of violation KRS 327.070(2)(b) by engaging in substandard patient care and (h)
by engaging in fraud or material deception in the delivery of professional services, including reimbursement. 90 day suspension
stayed by 2 yr probation with monitoring, $1,700 investigative costs, $100 fine, 3 hour CEU and passage of Jurisprudence Exam.

Michael Rickey, PTA-A01643 Date: 11/17/2005

Alleged Violations: KRS 327.070(2)(m).

Final Action: Admits to violation KRS 327.070(2)(m) by being impaired by reason of a mental, physical, or other condition that
impedes the Respondent’s ability to practice competently, for which the Respondent has subsequently received appropriate mental
health treatment. Indefinite suspension, stayed with terms and conditions, including active membership under contract with the
Impaired Physical Therapy Practitioners Committee (IPTPC) for at least five years with a Board appointed monitor, on-site
supervision, and restrictions on practice setting.

Cease & Desist Orders
May 2005 through January 2006

The following is a list of violations of KRS 327.020(3) “It shall be unlawful for any person, or for any business entity, its
employees, agents, or representatives to use in connection with his or its name or business activity the words "physical
therapy,"” "physical therapist,” "physiotherapy,” "physiotherapist," "registered physical therapist," the letters "P.T.," "L.P.T."
or any other words, letters, abbreviations or insignia indicating or implying directly or indirectly that physical therapy is
provided or supplied or to bill for physical therapy unless such physical therapy is provided by or under the supervision of a

physical therapist licensed and practicing in accordance with this chapter.”

Jeremy Bartholomew, D.C., Lakeway Chiropractic, Russell Springs, advertising under the yellow page classification of
“Physical Therapists”.



Cease & Desist (cont)

Erica Montgomery-Turner, D.C., Lakeway Chiropractic, Russell Springs, advertising under the yellow page classification of
“Physical Therapists”.

James M. Hamlin, D.C., S M Chiropractic, P.S.C., d/b/a/ American Health Centers, Ashland, advertising in the newspaper and using
the words “physical therapy” in the chiropractic office.

Elaine Cassady, Massage Therapist and Louisville Therapeutic Massage billing for “physical therapy evaluation” using CPT Code
97001 as submitted to an insurance company for payment.

Eric DeYoung, Occupational Kinetics using the words “physical therapy” on office prescription pads.

Darlene Rhodes, Hines Fitness Center, using the words “physical therapy” in connection with an aquatic fitness center business in the
newspaper, Messenger-Inquirer, Owensboro, Kentucky.

Recognizing an addiction

We all know that we may see patients who are addicted to drugs or alcohol. Do we recognize it
in them? Would we recognize this disease in a colleague? If we do recognize it, then what do
we do? Let's begin with a definition and some signs and symptoms.

Addiction to drugs including alcohol is a primary, chronic, neurobiological disease, with genetic,
psychosocial, and environmental factors influencing its development and manifestations. It is
characterized by behaviors that include one or more of the following:

= Change in Personality - Changes in a person's normal behavior can be a sign of
dependency. Shifts in energy, mood, and concentration may occur as everyday
responsibilities become secondary to the need for the relief the prescription provides.

= Change in Appearance - Personal hygiene may diminish as a result of a drug
addiction. Significant weight loss may occur and glazed eyes may be evident.

= Blackouts and Forgetfulness - Another clear indication of dependence is when the
person regularly forgets events that have taken place and appears to be suffering
frequent blackouts.

= Social Withdrawal - A person experiencing a dependency problem may withdraw
from family, friends, and other social interaction.

= Desensitized Emotions - A dependent person may exhibit an attitude of indifference,
a lack of emotion, and demonstrate disinterest in things that previously brought them
pleasure.

= Increased Inactivity - Hobbies and activities no longer provide the enjoyment they
used to. Those suffering from dependency may feel lethargic and tend to stop
engaging in athletic activities.

= Defensiveness - Abusers who attempt to hide a drug dependency may lash out and
become very defensive if they feel their secret is being discovered.

If you recognize any of these signs and symptoms in a colleague, you may refer them to the
PACE Program. Per KRS 327.045 (6), this program will assist those with the disease, getting
the help they need while remaining privileged and confidential. Call the KY Professionals
Recovery Network — Brian Fingerson, RPh @ 502-749-8385 or email kyprn@insightbb.com for
assistance.




Points to Ponder. ..

The board office receives questions on a regular basis ranging from address changes to questions regarding the
statutes and regulations. We hope the following on reassessments and supervision will reinforce your understanding
and clarify some of your questions.

Reassessments

Reassessments are required on all patients within the defined time frames based on the care setting
whether they are being seen by the physical therapist only or in conjunction with a physical therapist
assistant. The reassessments must contain the following elements according to 201 KAR 22:053 Section
5(3):

(3) Reassessment, which is written or typed, signed and dated by a physical therapist. This reassessment
shall be in compliance with Section 4(3)(i) through (I) of this administrative regulation:

(a) If the physical therapist is treating the patient, these reports may be incorporated into the progress

notes.

(b) If a physical therapist assistant or supportive personnel are treating the patient, the report shall be

a separate entry into the record.

(c) A reassessment shall include directly observed objective, subjective, and medical data necessary

for the revision or reaffirmation of the plan of care and measurable goals.

The time frames that reassessments are required according to 201 KAR 22:053 Section 4 (3) are:
(i) Reassessing inpatients in either a hospital or comprehensive rehabilitation facility every fourteen
(14) days;
(j) Reassessing every ninety (90) days, with the physical therapist assistant present, patients in:
1. A facility defined in 902 KAR 20:086 as an intermediate care facility (ICF) for the mentally
retarded (MR) and developmentally disabled (DD); or
2. A school system. A forty-five (45) day grace period shall be allowed upon transfer from another
school district or from the start of the school year. During this grace period treatment may
continue based upon the previous reassessment or initial evaluation;
(k) Reassessing each patient not otherwise noted every thirty (30) days following the initial evaluation
or subsequent reassessment;
(l) Reassessing a patient whose medical condition has changed; and

Although Medicare or other payors may require recertification of the plan of care or “supervisory visits”
for reimbursement, the Practice Act supersedes all other requirements. For example:

= Medicare Part A may require recertification of the plan of care every 60 days by the physician, but the
Practice Act requires the physical therapist to perform a reassessment every 30 days in a home health
setting.
= Medicare may require “supervisory visits” when a physical therapist assistant is treating the patient,
but this is not a requirement of the Practice Act. However, they could be combined as long as all the
elements in 201 KAR 22:053 Section 5(3) are met.
» A physical therapist assistant must discontinue services if the reassessment is not done by the
physical therapist in accordance with the time frame above.
» The only time a PTA is required to be present when the PT is performing the reassessment is in a
school system or a facility defined as an ICF/MRDD as stated in 201 KAR 22:053 Section 4(3):
(j) Reassessing every ninety (90) days, with the physical therapist assistant present, patients in:
1. A facility defined in 902 KAR 20:086 as an intermediate care facility (ICF) for the mentally
retarded (MR) and developmentally disabled (DD); or
2. A school system. A forty-five (45) day grace period shall be allowed upon transfer from another
school district or from the start of the school year. During this grace period treatment may
continue based upon the previous reassessment or initial evaluation;

The requirements for reassessments as outlined above may differ from the requirements of various
payors. As a Kentucky licensed physical therapist or physical therapist assistant, you must always follow the
requirements of the Practice Act even if it is more stringent than the payor requirements.



Standards of Supervision

Many physical therapists are working at several locations, possibly even PRN. Sometimes your
work involves doing evaluations and reassessments only.

= Do you really know who you are supervising?

= Do you know the competency of those you are supervising insuring that you are not delegating
procedures or techniques beyond their scope of training, education or expertise?

= Are you available by telecommunication at all times during the working hours of the physical
therapist assistant?

This is a reminder that 201 KAR 22:053 Section 4 states:
When supervising the physical therapist assistant and supportive personnel, the physical

therapist shall:
(1) (a) At all times, including all work locations, be limited to:
1. Supervising no more than four (4) full-time physical therapist assistants or supportive

personnel; or
2. The number of those persons providing part-time patient care for a period equivalent to
that provided by four (4) full-time providers of patient care.

Please make the following changes to your copy of The Practice
Act:

KRS 327.025 (2): Is suspected of fraud or deceit in procuring or
4/// attempting to procure a license to practice physical therapy or of

negligently performing actions that justify action against a physical
\E therapist or physical therapist’s assistant’s license as identified in

KRS 327.070(2) subsection{2)-of SectionF-of this-Aet;

\

@ 201 KAR 22:040 Section 1 (4) In accordance with the course

\bx requirement in KRS 327.050(8), verification of completion of a
Cabinet for Health Services (CHS) approved two (2) hour course on
the transmission, control, treatment and prevention of human
immunodeficiency virus infection and AIDS, pursuant to KRS
214.610(1) but not more than every ten (10) years. The course shall
be completed within the renewal biennial period that it is due;




Questions on Continuing Competency

201 KAR 22:045

1. How do I know if a course is approved?
= Visit the KBPT website at http://pt.ky.gov Approved courses are available in an
Adobe (PDF) file or an Excel file that may be downloaded and sorted.
= Course is approved by any state licensing board.
= Course is approved by the APTA and its components and sections. Some
examples are:
1. Ohio Physical Therapy Association (OPTA)
2. Orthopaedic Section
3. Acute Care Section
4. Geriatrics Section

2. How does a Category 1 course become approved?
= Asalicensee, go to http://pt.ky.gov/cce/ and complete the “Credential Holder”
application. There is a $10.00 fee for each approval.
=  Ask the provider of the course to complete the “Individual Provider” application
at http://pt.ky.gov/cce/.

3. How many hours of continuing competency is required and when do they have to be
earned?
=  PT - 30 hours earned between January 1, 2005 and March 31, 2007
=  PTA — 20 hours earned between January 1, 2005 and March 31, 2007

4. Am I required to have a certain number of hours from each category?
= 2 hour open book tutorial, Jurisprudence Exam (JE) is required
= Category |

PT — at least 18 hours are required

PTA — at least 10 hours are required
= (Category II

PT — no more than 10 hours

PTA — no more than 8 hours

5. Do new graduates with a physical therapist credential need to obtain CEU’s in order to
renew their license?
* Everyone renewing their credential will be required to obtain CEU’s
= New graduates will be able to use their class work hours to meet the CE
requirement but will still need to take the JE.

6. Who is required to take the Open Book Tutorial (JE)?
» Everyone renewing their credential will be required to take the exam



Continuing Competency cont.

7. How is the examination taken?
* Online at http://pt.ky.gov The cost is $10.00 and you may use a credit card or
electronic check payment.
= Schedule an appointment to take the exam at the Board office in Louisville.

8. Ireceived information on a seminar which has been approved by the Ohio PT Board. Is
this acceptable for Kentucky PT Board even though they are not listed as an approved
source?

= Courses that have been approved by other state licensing boards are automatically
approved for Kentucky.

9. When do I need to submit certificates for continuing education?
*  Submit proof of continuing education documentation if you are audited by the
Board.
= Retain your documentation for three years from the end of the biennium.

10. How is documentation of continuing education earned by participation in community
service related to health care, or participation in a physical therapy inservice or study
group?

= This is a Category II activity and there is not an approval process required.
* Document the activity on your “CEU Tracking Form”
= Examples of documentation include:

1. Community Service — List date and event

2. Inservice — List topic, date and place of inservice

3. Study group — List date, topic and attendees

4. Article — List article name, publication and date



Kentucky State Board of Physical Therapy
9110 Leesgate Road, Suite 6
Louisville, KY 40222-5159

CHANGE OF HOME ADDRESS, NAME, OR WORKSITE

Any change of your name or home/work location must be sent to the Board within 30 days of the change according to KRS
327.040(6). For a name change, please send a copy of the legal document verifying the change. You may mail, fax, or email the
information to the Board office.

Home Address

Name Lic. No.
Address

City State Zip County
Phone( ) Email address

Primary Work Facility
Name
Address

City State Zip County
Phone( ) Full/Part time

For PTAs only: PT Supervisor’s Name & Lic. No.

Note: Our agency provides licensure lists for a fee to recruiters, continuing education sponsors, and other agencies. Please indicate
your preferred address of public record for disclosure. If neither address is marked, the default address will be your home address.

Please use my home address
Please use my primary work location address FAX NO. (502) 429-7142
EMAIL: KYBPT@ky.gov




